Messy room = messy mind

Day 2 detox; Day 1 minimalist challenge: Take 10 minutes to stretch.

I’ve been thinking, whilst the stance the books take that I mentioned in my previous post, are one of ‘decluttering your life,’ I also think the indirect message is to stop putting things off and let go.

By nature, I am not the tidiest person… (that’s a nice way of putting it, isn’t it). When I clean out my room, wardrobe or bookshelf, I often battle against the feeling that tells me ‘but maybe one day you’ll need it.’ Reality check – that tweed skirt will never be vintage – LET GO. Also, whilst we’re letting go – that CD that your ex-boyfriend gave you can go too – I’m sure the memory will live on blah,blah, blah.

I know it has only been a day of ‘minimalist me’ and I am really only trying this out of curiosity, however,  I would like this to have some longterm impact. Dealing with things when they happen, i.e. mess, allows you to be more switched on in the present. Messy room = messy mind.

I think that by surrounding yourself with objects that you don’t use but only serve as memories, weighs you down more than anything else. Getting rid of ‘things’ and ‘stuff’ is actually extremely liberating.

FullSizeRender 13

Stretch.

I stretched in the afternoon, having slept badly the night before I needed a natural energiser. However, I realised that I won’t be able to complete the days in order as I’m currently visiting family, so ‘don’t spend money for 24 hours’ and ‘clean every surface in your room’ won’t work!

 

See how I got on: Day 3 detox; Day 2 minimalist challenge: Practice monotasking

Leave a Reply

