KEEP IT SIMPLE. minimalising my day.

 

 

Do you ever get that feeling when you are so excited about something that you can’t sleep? Well, unfortunately, I get that often. Yesterday my dad was telling me about a book he read, ‘Goodbye, Things: The New Japanese Minimalism’ by Japanese author, Fumio Sasaki and it really struck a chord.

The art of minimalising and decluttering have been hot topics recently, demonstrated by the huge success of Marie Kondo’s, ‘The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up.’ Having just returned to the UK after doing an internship in Brazil, I currently feel like change is in my air… I spend my days job hunting, so why not spend my breaks ‘minimalising my life’?

Simple right? That’s the goal.

I came across this photo of ‘The Minimalist Challenge. I decided – I’m going to do it. 

7-day-minimalist-challenge

I’m sure I’m not alone in this, but I constantly find myself attracted to the idea of these ‘7-day challenges,’ ’28-days to a new you’ detox, ‘Kayla’s Bikini Body Challenge’ but I never commit to them. Blame it on social media, willpower or that extra G&T, I think it’s time for me to exercise some discipline, to prove to myself that I can do it.

 

FullSizeRender 12
Day 1 Lunch: Salmon veggie bowl

 

Day 1. 

No meat. No alcohol. No mess.

Not eating meat or drinking alcohol aren’t part of the new minimalist me, they were planned since my first leaving parties started in Brazil. Partly health, partly curiosity, partly because I’m broke. Not eating meat for 2 weeks shouldn’t be hard, seeing as I was a pescatarian for over 7 years, however, I think it’s actually harder the second time around – has anyone else had that?!

I couldn’t sleep during the night… So I cleaned out my inbox. 8,500 e-mails – 420.

I also cleaned up the home screen on my phone.

 

FullSizeRender 10
Day 2 breakfast: Simple Starts

 

Day 2 detox; Day 1 minimalist challenge: Take 10 minutes to stretch. To see how I got on click here.

 

Have you embarked on a minimalist/ meatfree/ weightloss challenge? I’d love to know how it went below!

Leave a Reply

